Posted by Michael Crowe on Mar 02, 2021
Back in 1964 the Port Fairy Rotary Club established the facilities at the Charles Mills Reserve, a small picturesque park on the eastern bank of the Moyne River.  Since that time the Club has improved and maintained the reserve - a period of 57 years!  A recent working bee saw club members spruce up the shelters, bollards and the flagpole with a fresh coat of paint.
The painting gang at Charles Mills
The reserve is named after Charles Mills who was a Port Fairy pioneer. He came to the area to practise whaling along with his brother, John.  As whaling petered out he established 'Lagoon Farm' at Rosebrook and in 1846 built 'Woodbine' as his home on the property.
The lowered flagpole gets a new coat of paint
Working on the shelter